In Corporate Partnerships, News & Media, Press Release

On February 26, 2018 at 10 AM, the 9/11 Tribute Museum will honor teachers from across the United States for the lessons they have created to introduce students of all ages to the complex topic of the terrorist attacks of September 11th, 2001 and their aftermath.

For the first time, the 9/11 Tribute Museum Teacher Awards ceremony will be open to the public to highlight the work of educators in helping students to understand the impact of the attacks on 9/11 and how people have tried to make a positive difference in the years since. The 9/11 Tribute Museum chose to mark the 25th anniversary of the first attack on the World Trade Center by showing the public how important it is to expose those who were not born in 2001 to this world-changing event which seems like history to them.

This year’s award winners work in elementary, middle and high school classrooms, and in each case have found age-appropriate resources and have developed projects that allow students to find their own ways to pay tribute to both those lost and those who responded.  Many of the teachers have utilized primary sources, including oral histories collected by students, as a key element in their lessons. The teachers have also emphasized the importance of the compassion that followed the attacks as an inspiration to engaging their students in community service activities.

Each winning school receives a cash award contributed by 9/11 family foundations who support the 9/11 Tribute Museum’s educational outreach. The foundations are: The Brooke Jackman Foundation, The Christopher Slattery 9/11 Memorial Foundation, the GLS Memorial Fund, the Terrence D. Gazzani 9/11 Scholarship Fund, The Terry Farrell Firefighters’ Scholarship Fund and The Welles Remy Crowther Charitable Trust.

This event is open to the public. Educators and students are particularly invited to attend. The ceremony will be held at the 9/11 Tribute Museum, 92 Greenwich Street, (corner of Rector Street), New York, NY 10006.


2018 Awardees:

  • Genna Callahan, PS/IS 116 William C. Hughley School, Jamaica, New York.
  • Nancy Re Cregan, Our Lady of Trust Catholic Academy, Brooklyn, New York.
  • Cara Denbrock, T.C. Knapp Elementary School, Canton, Ohio.
  • Doug DePice, Melissa Heintes and Amanda Wargocki, Secaucus Middle and High Schools, Secaucus, New Jersey.
  • James Fagen, Manasquan High School, Manasquan, New Jersey.
  • Katie Fernandez Blake, Bergen County Academies, Hackensack, New Jersey.
  • Kathleen Haslett, Iroquois Jr./Sr. High School, Erie, Pennsylvania.


February 26, 1993:
To learn more about the February 26, 1993 bombing of the World Trade Center, please click here to view our online exhibit.

RSVP for this Event

Recent Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search

Become A Volunteer2018 Teacher Awards Winners